About Us

The Assembly of God Mission was founded in Kolkata, India by Rev. Dr. D. Mark Buntain who is hailed as “A friend of God”. The Assembly of God School (Tollygunge branch) was established in January 1978. Principles of Christian teaching are the guiding lights for the school in its endeavour to provide education of high standard to children. In its attempt to provide education to children from the economically or otherwise underprivileged class, the school provides admission and assistance to such children on a preferential basis. The school runs a ‘Boys Home’ which looks after children whose parents cannot afford to send them to school.

Organized by the Assemblies of God of North India (AGNI) this co-educational school is recognized by the Department of Education, government of West Bengal and affiliated to the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examination, New Delhi. The school prepares its children for the ICSE / ISC examinations.

The school aims to provide all-round education to its students. It has a Computer Room, a Physics Laboratory, Chemistry Laboratory, Biology Laboratory and a well-furnished Library. It encourages its students to develop co-curricular skills. Several competitions of varied nature (games, story writing, debate, music, elocution etc.) are held to provide students with greater exposure. Students are also made to participate in several inter-school competitions.

The school has an efficient Managing Body, a Board of Education and a committee on sexual harassment, legal committee and several others where teachers’ and parents’ representatives are present to voice their opinions.

The only problem that the school currently faces is a space crunch. It, therefore, runs in two shifts and the same classrooms have to be used twice – once for the junior school in the morning and again for the senior school during the day.

But with the A.G. Flag fluttering high one is sure that ‘Building a better India by building Better Boys and Girls’ is not an impossible task anymore.




Students Studying


Years of Teaching Experience

Vision Statement

To enable every child entrusted to our care to reach their full potential as image-bearers of our Creator-God and responsible nation-builders

Mission Statement

The Assembly of God Church School strives to provide every student with a well-rounded education that includes the development of academic excellence, moral values, social awareness , essential life skills and a healthy life-style.


When the building at Tollygunge was bought for the Boys’ Home, Rev. Dr. R. Shaw, the then Principal of the A. G. Church School, saw the need of a school in the locality not only to serve the community but to make education more easily available for the boys in the Home.  So the Founder and the Chairman, Rev. (Dr.) D. Mark Buntain and the late G. D. Shaw jointly opened the school on 18th January, 1978. The present Chairman & Administrator of the A.G. Mission is Rev. Dr. Ivan Satyavrata.

The school started with three classes –Lower Nursery, Upper Nursery and Kindergarten, comprising 120 students.  As a response to the growing demands, one class at a time was upgraded till class X. Our school got recognition in 1995 and in 1996 the students were able to appear for ICSE from the school as a Home Centre.

In the year 1997 Commerce stream was introduced at the ISC level. The Boys’ Home was shifted in 2007 and we got scope for expansion.  In 2009 the Science stream was introduced. The school has undergone a lot of renovation since 2008 that includes modernisation of the existing Science and Computer laboratories, renovation of the office as well as the Library. There is also an emergency exit at the rear end of the school building. At present we have 1274 students and each class has two sections ranging from Nursery to class XII with an average of 45 students in each section.

The following have been the Principals/Heads of the school since its inception till date :


Mrs. F. Kapper                                                                                   Headmistress (1978-1990)

Mr. J.H. Mazumdar                                                                           Headmaster/Principal (1990-2007)

Mrs. M. Norman                                                                                Principal (2007-2012)

Miss E. Thomas                                                                                 Principal (2012-2016)

Mr. L. Chellappa                                                                                Principal (2016-2018)

Mrs. K. Biswas                                                                                   Acting Principal (2018- 2023)

Mr. Sankhasubha Roy                                                                      Principal (2023- till date)

© Copyright - Assembly of God Church Schools